Taste of Tourism Award Winners – 2011

The Hills of Headwaters Tourism Association
Honours Tourism Excellence at the TASTE OF TOURISM AWARDS

On Wednesday 16 November, The Hills of Headwaters Tourism Association celebrated excellence in tourism and hospitality at their annual tourism awards ceremony.  The evening honoured those businesses and individuals that exemplify business and customer service excellence, and who help profile the Hills of Headwaters region as one Ontario’s premier tourism destinations.

The evening was hosted at the Dufferin County Museum & Archives, with Master of Ceremonies Wayne Townsend, leading guests through a casual and engaging evening of networking and socializing, which began with fabulous taste sensations from some of our region’s finest dining establishments:  The Globe Restaurant, Hockley Valley Resort, On Your Forks and One99 Restaurant.

Following cocktails and some wonderful culinary creations, guests headed over to the Corbetton Church (part of the Museum complex) and enjoyed a charming & intimate evening, honouring the “best-of-the-best” in the industry, with laughter, camaraderie and celebration!

Dignitaries at the event included Caledon Mayor Marolyn Morrison, Caledon Regional Councillor Richard Paterak, Town of Mono Councillor Elaine Capes, and Dufferin-Caledon MPP Sylvia Jones, who presented certificates of recognition to each award winner.

Recognizing the importance of arts and culture in the Hills of Headwaters region, award recipients received a beautifully framed print from the 2010 Hills of Headwaters Artisan of the Year, Rosemary Hasner, in honour of their achievements.

The judges from the Ontario Ministry of Tourism and Culture were impressed with the high calibre of nominees and finalists, and indicated that they had some very difficult decisions to make in order to select a winner in each category.  After considerable deliberation, they selected the following winners in each category:

Best Arts, Culture or Heritage Experience

Artisan of the Year

Best Agri-Tourism Experience

  • Foodstock

Tourism Event or Festival of the Year

Best Culinary Tourism Experience

  • Foodstock

Best Overnight Getaway Experience

Best Customer Service Experience – Business

Best Customer Service Experience – Individual

Best New Tourism Business

  • Tammeron Centres for Well Being

Tourism Innovator

Tourism Ambassador

  • Jo Fillery

Chairperson’s Award of Merit

  • Maureen Baufeldt (1942 – 2011)


Congratulations to all nominees and finalists, and particularly to our 2011 award winners, who exemplify the best in tourism and hospitality in the Hills of Headwaters.