Honouring excellence at the 2012 Taste of Tourism Awards

On Wednesday, November 14th, The Hills of Headwaters Tourism Association celebrated excellence in tourism and hospitality at their annual tourism awards ceremony.

The evening honoured those businesses and individuals that exemplify business and customer service excellence, and who help profile the Hills of Headwaters region as one of Ontario’s premier tourism destinations.

The evening was hosted at the Dufferin County Museum & Archives, with Master of Ceremonies Wayne Townsend leading guests through a casual and engaging evening of networking and socializing, and which began with fabulous taste sensations from some of our region’s finest dining establishments:  Belfountain Inn, Bistro Riviere, Soulyve and Terra Nova Public House.

Following cocktails and some wonderful culinary creations, guests headed across the property to the Corbetton Church and enjoyed a charming & intimate evening honouring the “best-of-the-best” in the industry with laughter, camaraderie and celebration!

Recognizing the importance of arts and culture in the Hills of Headwaters region, and reinforcing a commitment to supporting business in the Headwaters region, award recipients received a beautiful handcrafted plate from potter Ann Randeraad, the Hills of Headwaters 2011 Artisan of the Year, in honour of their achievements.

The judges from the Ontario Ministry of Tourism and Culture were highly impressed with the calibre of nominees and finalists, and ultimately chose the following winners in each category:


Best Arts, Culture or Heritage Experience

  • Beauty in the Beast Exhibition (Dufferin County Museum & Archives)

Artisan of the Year

Best Agri-Tourism Experience

Tourism Event or Festival of the Year

  • Le Tour de Terra Cotta

Best Culinary Tourism Experience

  • Cuisine-Art at the Alton Mill

Best Overnight Getaway Experience

  • Farmer’s Walk Bed & Breakfast

Best Customer Service Experience – Business

  • Greystones Inn & Spirits Pub

Best Customer Service Experience – Individual

  • Sarah Garvie (The Donkey Farm)

Best New Tourism Business

Tourism Innovator

  • Mud Hero

Tourism Ambassador

Chairperson’s Award of Merit

  • Al Pace & Lin Ward (Farmhouse Pottery & Canoe North Adventures)

Congratulations to all nominees and finalists, and particularly to our 2012 award winners, who exemplify the best in tourism and hospitality in the Hills of Headwaters.

Nominations are now open for next year’s Taste of Tourism awards, and submissions can be made until October 2013.  Take this opportunity to recognize the “best of the best” in the Headwaters tourism industry by nominating your favourite business or operator.


Photos from the awards: