The Town of Orangeville’s call for nominations for the 2018 Arts and Culture Awards received a resounding response. Forty-three individuals, businesses and organizations have been acknowledged for their contributions to arts and culture in Dufferin County.

The nominees for the 2018 awards are:

Established Artist of the Year:

Student Artist of the Year:

  • Chanelle Nguyen-Duong
  • Marybeth Higginson
  • Nathan Warnaar
  • Nicolas Mustapha
  • Victoria Sodoma

Arts Educator of the Year:

Community Arts Volunteer Advocate:

  • Jim Kurtz
  • Karen O’Brodovich
  • Larry Kurtz
  • Lucinda Silva
  • Nancy Woods
  • Wayne Townsend

Emerging Artist of the Year:

  • Andrew Maycock
  • Bridget O’Rourke
  • Sara May / Falcon Jane
  • Sarah Henry-Godfrey

Community Impact by a Business:

  • Academy of Performing Arts
  • Maggiolly Art
  • Mark’s
  • Mochaberry Coffee & Co Ltd.
  • Savour the Flavours
  • TriTone Music Studios


Community Impact by an Organization:


Creative Cultural Event:

  • CaribFest – Soulyve
  • Celebrate the Arts – Dufferin Arts Council
  • FRINGEnorth519 – Theatre Orangeville
  • The Secret Garden – Theatre Orangeville Musical Young Company
  • Underground Art Scene – Theatre Orangeville’s Youth Advisory Committee in partnership with Orangeville Public Library Teen Advisory Group

The awards will be presented at Celebration of the Arts, an annual event that kicks off Culture Days in the Town of Orangeville. The evening reception will also feature music by local saxophonist Ryan Grist followed by a performance by Sawyer Bullock, an award-winning mentalist and illusionist. Celebration of the Arts will be held at 7 p.m. at Town Hall, 87 Broadway. Free tickets are now available and can be reserved at until Friday, September 21.